Glass painting tutorial II

Hello buddies 🙂

One more tutorial on Glass painting 🙂 If you missed my previous glass painting tutorial check it out here Basic Glass painting tutorial. This time also I have used similar technic but with little variations. Ok lets move straight to the tutorial.Glass painting

Supplies :

  • Glass for painting (any size of your choice)
  • A design to be copied
  • Glass paint (Water based)
  • Glass Out-liner (black)
  • Gold outliner
  • Gold 3D Liner

My Method :

  1. The procedure is same as the previous tutorial.
  2. Place the glass on top of the design printout and secure the design printout and glass in place on a flat surface using painters tape or cellophane tape.Tape
  3. Then trace the outline with black glass outliner.
  4. Additionally for the design I have chosen I used Gold outliner and and 3D Gold glitter for the jewelry and few glitters on the dress part.
  5. 3D glitters are same as glitter powders but they are premixed with glue thats the difference.
  6. You can also sprinkle the glitter powder directly on glass colour when it is wet.The wet paint will act as a glue.
  7. Once the outline tracing and glittering is done let it dry for half and hour.Glass outliner
  8. Once it is dry fill the glass paint on it. All these are almost the same steps I did in my first tutorial.
  9. A new addition this time is I tried applying acrylic colours on glass.acrylic paint
  10. Yes I couldn’t get Skin colour and papaya orange in Glass paint so I tried acrylic colours and It worked 🙂
  11. I told you in my previous tutorial that don’t apply second coat once the paint is dry. But this time I myself tried it because I wanted the dress folds in the design to look darker So I applied second coat along the folding partsDouble coating
  12. It didn’t look good initially But once completed I realised it was actually not a bad idea to give second coats 🙂 From long distance I got the effect I expected 🙂
  13. And once completed filling colours let it dry for 30 to 40 mins
  14. Once dry reverse the glass and Frame it.
  15. This time I didn’t add crushed silver foil behind the design instead I added a simple blue chart. Because I wanted the design to dominate and the glittery details to be seen clearly.Glass painting
  16. Frame it ! Hang it ! 🙂 How do you like it ?

Do you like these stuff ? Then Follow my blog to see more of these . You can find the follow button on the right side top corner of the page, take a moment to confirm subscription by checking the confirmation e-mail in your subscribed mail-ID. Also if you are in Facebook be kind to like my page here and support me.sign

5 thoughts on “Glass painting tutorial II

  1. Victoria McLaughlin

    Hi I love your tutorials. I have been trying to paint glass, I’m using Americana gloss enamel (for glass) and the brushes that they recommend. The paint does not look they way I will like. it looks like it is not mix well i wish I could send you a picture so you could get me some tips.

    Reply
  2. amilkamil

    VERY NICE IDEAS THANKS FOR SHARING .I AM NEW AT GLASS PAINTINGS GOT LOT OF HELP,I WAS USING COLOURS BUT THEY HAD SCRATCHES AFTER I FINISH .I WILL NOW TRY THE WATER BASED COLOURS.AND HOW CAN I HAVE THE BEST RESULTS I MEAN EVEN SMOOTH COLOUR SURFACE.?AND CAN I GET YOUR HELP IF I HAVE ANY QUESTIONS.

    Reply
  3. priya

    Hi Lakshmi, ur tutorial was really nice.
    I had also made some big glass paintings and I want to sale them… can u please suggest me some way out for dat.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

